Not seeing a Scroll to Top Button? Go to our FAQ page for more info.
Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Ministry of Health - eHealth Portal
Free & Open Source Software Conference (3rd Edition)
Activate your ID card now at the nearest Civil Status Directorate

Main Navigation

Accessibility Icons

Increase font size

User Control

Language selection


With the participation of 38 government and private entities: Winners of Sultan Qaboos Award for eGov to be announced today

This evening the Information Technology Authority (ITA) celebrates the final phase of the 5th edition of Sultan Qaboos Award for Excellence in eGovernment 2016, in an award ceremony to be held in the Grand Hall of Sultan Qaboos Cultural Centre at SQU, under the patronage of HE Dr. Abdulmunim bin Mansour Al Hasani, Minister of Information. Out of 64 participating projects from 38 government, private and SMEs institutions, only 11 projects will be honored today.

Speaking on the award ceremony occasion, Dr. Salim Sultan Al Ruzaiqi, CEO of ITA, said: “This award comes as a translation of what His Majesty emphasized in his speech, during the annual meeting of the council of Oman in 2008 on the use of ICT, which has become the main driver of development in the Third Millennium. Therefore, he has accorded attention to finding a national strategy to develop the skills and abilities of citizens in this domain with the aim of further developing eGovernment services. His Majesty also urged all government entities to hasten to enhance their performance and to ease the delivery of their eServices by leveraging the ICT potentials and benefits. Based on that, we urge all government and private organizations to take into consideration all the comments and valuable recommendations provided by the jury committee which has a long term expertise to improve their services at all levels.”

He also added about the jury committee: “In this edition of the award, the jury committee consisted of 13 members, 11 of them are from pioneering countries at global level in eGovernment transactions and delivery of eServices. While, we have 2 jury members from the sultanate to give them the chance to involve and benefit from the international experts who regularly participate in evaluating various international competitions in the field of eGovernment.”

He went on: “The jury committee worked on evaluating and sorting the participating projects to filter the qualified participating projects which followed the award’s evaluation criteria and meeting the registration requirements and conditions. Then, the filtered and qualified participating projects were evaluated against general and specific standards and criteria based on the UN’s standards for eGovernment indicators and the International Portal Assessment Guidelines, thus the jury committee managed to shortlist the best participating categories under each category and thereby selecting the winning project or withholding the prize for a certain category if no project met the evaluation criteria and standards. The decision of withholding the prize for any category was taken by the jury committee only.”

Award categories

This year the award contains 11 categories for the three targeted sectors: government, private large organizations and SMEs. The government sector entities competed in 8 different categories, namely: Best e-Service including (G2E, G2B), Best e-Services via Mobile including (G2E, G2B), Best whole of government Project, Best service supporting doing business, Best e-participation for decision making initiative, Best e-transformation achievement. Whereas the private sector’s large organizations competed in two categories, namely: Best Public eService and Best Public Mobile eService. Private sector ICT Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) participated, in one category: Best SME eService.

Back to List

Bottom Navigation